I mentioned in an earlier post that I had no idea why our family called a recipe “my recipe.” Well, I am happy to report that I have solved that mystery…because I am sure you have been on the edge of your seats with curiosity.

Well, here you go:

My great-grandmother, Julia (whom I am named after), would make meatloaf with a side of mac and cheese with a tomato gravy. The entire meal was a favorite for many but me apparently! My mother would fix it and I would snub my nose at it. Now I know where my kids get it! So my mother got the brilliant idea of combining all the ingredients and that apparently made me a happy camper. So here’s the recipe…but I must warn you, I do not have specific measurements. It is one of those I fix and just see how it looks and taste and go from there.

1 lb ground beef
3-4 Tbsp flour
can of tomato sauce
8 oz macaroni
cheddar cheese

Cook pasta according to directions. In the meantime, brown the meat. Once browned, remove from skillet. If there is any fat remaining, add flour. If there is not, add some oil. You will need 3-4 Tbsp of fat/oil in pan before adding the flour. Slowly add the tomato sauce. Once thick, I usually add a little sugar. Then simply mix the meat and pasta with the sauce and sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

Here’s the tomato gravy.

