I wanted to catch you up on our reading adventures. As you may remember, reading around here is not always the exciting, snuggle up close kind of moment I have always dreamed of; however, ever since reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, it has been a little closer to that experience…still no snuggling but I will take what I can get.

We are now into book 3, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. My son tells me it isn’t nearly as exciting as the first and we aren’t reading at breakneck speed with this one, but he is still very much into the story and is always anxious to hear if and when Aslan’s name will be mentioned. And while the girls have been more interested in watching the movies (which we don’t do until the book is completely read), my oldest girl was listening intently tonight.

They are all eager to finish this book because, in case you haven’t been following along in our excitement here, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader comes out on DVD this Friday. So we may be reading a bit faster as the week progresses.

But that of course isn’t all we do here. Our homeschool day is, I am convinced, not a typical homeschool day if compared to other homeschoolers. I have a 3rd grader, 1st grader, Kindergartener and an energetic 3-year-old. For some reasons I will not go into, our evenings run late and therefore our days start SLOW.

I have tried a schedule to keep things flowing (you know 8-8:30 Math, 8:30-9 Reading, etc) but found that I hated to quit if the child was on the verge of “getting it.” Why stop because the clock says we need to? Or why keep going and thereby make me feel like we are somehow behind? So good-bye clocks and schedules (at least for now).

Our “for now” consists of either plugging through school work with my kindergartener, then the 1st grader in the morning, and finally my 3rd grader in the afternoon OR vice versa (son in the morning and the girls in the afternoon). They are all on different levels of learning and so I find myself sitting close by and aiding in their work and needing (for sanity’s sake) to take it one child at a time. I look forward to reaching the day when I can hand them their work and walk away to do one-on-one with someone who may be struggling with a subject.

This is working for us and though I feel at times that I am not doing enough with one (or all), I have learned to (daily) let go of my expectations and trust that, like the reading thing,  things will flow easier with time, patience and lots of love.

And maybe they will learn to love learning in the process. A mom can always hope!

