I am reading a wonderful book right now entitled, Dancing with My Father. It is written by Sally Clarkson who is a wife, mother to 4, author, speaker and overall encourager to women trying to live a godly life while juggling the demands of a hectic, demanding 24/7 job of motherhood.

If you are feeling overwhelmed with the daily ins and outs of being a mom and have felt the joy of your calling robbed from within you, I highly encourage you to read this book. I am only in chapter 3 but am already so encouraged by her wisdom, her insight in the Word and her “been there, done that” stories that I can’t read fast enough. BUT at the same time, I want to read s-l-o-w-l-y in order to take it all in and really absorb the truths she discovered in our loving, gracious Father while battling with the loss of joy in her own life.

If you have never heard of Sally, I encourage you to visit WholeHearted Ministries. There you will find a list of books written by Sally and/or her husband Clay. I have them all and have benefited from each one. I even re-read her book Seasons of a Mother’s Heart last summer and got so tickled at what I highlighted throughout the first reading and what hit me new during the second reading.

Here’s a quote from Dancing with My Father that I absolutely loved (and I am sure there will be more to come as I continue in my reading):

“Joy is not found in performing for people or in doing all the right things for God. Nor is joy in the absence of difficulties or problems. Joy is found in the presence of God in the midst of all circumstances, in delighting in the life he has given.”

You want to get our your highlighter and start marking your computer screen right now, don’t you? Well I would recommend buying the book and mark away.

P.S. I was not asked to give a review or make comments about this book. Nor am I getting paid in any way. I just highly enjoy reading Sally’s books and always walk away with a renewed sense of what God’s calling in my life is to look like.

 

